our team


  • Rhys Nicholas
  • Mostafa Hassan
  • Hong Yap


  • Milad Farrokhi
  • Omar Majzoub
  • Jamie Yoo
  • Ileana Bazzano
  • Andres Conde
  • Manon Bertoia
  • Fafa Morteza
  • Simon Li
  • Tina Le
  • Harry Murdoch
  • Biao Li
  • William Xie


  • Donnagh Murphy
  • Fariba Choudhury
  • Nicole Sheridan

our company

design different

Brewster Hjorth are an established practice of Sydney based Architects with a large number of important Public Architecture projects around Australia and New Zealand. Over the last 25 years our firm has developed unique skills as designers of specialist public buildings, libraries, civic centres, university and secondary teaching facilities, auditoriums and sports centres. many of our recent projects have won important architectural, construction, urban and civic design awards. Our buildings are beautiful, functional and unique.

Ingleburn Cultural Centre

Coogee Beach Centre

Australian Institute of Police Management, North Head


We understand the importance of creating communities of buildings, of working with stakeholders to develop long term strategies based on realistic planning.

selected masterplanning projects

public buildings

Our team is considered to be one of the leading public and community design firms on the pacific rim, we help lead the way in the implementation of new operational paradigms and the creation of ‘third place’ centres for many urban and suburban communities. We have completed a large number of very successful large public and academic library projects.

selected public building projects

education and teaching

Brewster Hjorth designs for specialist teaching and learning facilities embody the concepts of the new pedagogy which is driving the development of educational institutions in australia. Our buildings encourage collaboration and participation

selected education and teaching projects


CSU Dentistry, Orange

our awards

2018Coogee Beach CentreRandwick City CouncilWinner for International WAN Architecture Awards 2018 Winner Commendation for 2018 AIA Public Building Award Winner Commendation for Sustainability 2018 AIA Awards Winner of Silver Award for Environmental Graphics
2016Rockdale Civic Centre + LibraryThe Bayside City CouncilMBA Award for major Public Buildings (over $20m)
2015O’Regan Arts + Cultural Common Monte Sant Angelo Mercy CollegeShortlisted for 2015 AIA Education Award 2015 1st Commendation CEFPI Awards Australia Pacific Region for New Building
2013Cooroy LibraryNoosa Shire + Sunshine Coast CityRAIA Gabriel Pool Award for Building of the Year RAIA Sustainability & Steel Building of the Year Award
2013Rockhampton LibraryRockhampton City CouncilCentral Queensland Commendation Award for Architecture
2013JCU Eddie Koiki Mabo LibraryJames Cook UniversityFar North Queensland Commendation Award for Architecture
2013CSU school of Dentistry, Wagga Wagga Charles Sturt University International World Architecture Shortlist (WAN) 2013 Education Awards
2010CSU school of Dentistry, Wagga Wagga Charles Sturt UniversityAustralian Steel Industry National Award for Large Projects Australian Steel Industry National Award for Steel Clad Buildings
2009Ingleburn Cultural CentreCampbelltown City CouncilMBA Award (Public Buildings $10-20m) Shortlisted for 2010 AIA Sulman
2009CSU school of Dentistry, Wagga Wagga Charles Sturt UniversityMBA Building Award (Education $10-20m)
2008Concord LibraryCity of Canada Bay CouncilAwarded a High Commendation for the Australian Property Institute of NSW Awards for Excellence Local Government Award
2008Mccauley Place Learning CentreMonte Sant Angelo CollegeAwarded a Commendation for the AIA Suleman Prize for Public Architecture Master Builders Association Excellence in Construction Awards Winner Education Facility ($5-10m)
2006Wallsend LibraryNewcastle City CouncilRAIA Hunter Design Awards for ESD, Civic Design, Major Design Award
2005Mona Vale Library + Village ParkPittwater CouncilRAIA Commendation Award for Outstanding Civic Design RAIA Commendation Award for Environmentally Sustainable Design
2005Five Dock LibraryCanada Bay Council RAIA Shortlisted for Interior Architecture Award
2005Strathfield Library Strathfield CouncilMBA Public Building Award RAIA Shortlist for Public Architecture Award RAIA Shortlist for Premiers Award for Architecture
2003Mcquoin Indoor Aquatic CentreMonte Sant Angelo CollegeRAIA Commendation Award for Public Buildings
2003Avalon CentrePittwater CouncilMBA Public Building Award
2003UOW UnicentreUniversity of WollongongRAIA Shortlisted for Public Building Award WCC Award for Architecture